Back to top

Washington, DC

Washington, D.C., 1857, zoomable map

Boundaries and Extent. — The District, as at present limited, containing less than two thirds of the original land surface, is bounded on the north-west, north-east, and south-east, by the counties of Montgomery and Prince George's, in Maryland; on the south-west flows the Potomac, dividing it from Alexandria county, in Virginia — that portion of the District which reverted to the latter state by the act of 1846. The two cities, Washington and Georgetown, are situated respectively on the east and north-east banks of the river, and are connected by two short bridges crossing Rock Creek, a small branch of the Potomac.... The area of the entire District is now estimated at sixty square miles. (Gazetteer of the United States of America, 1854)


How to Cite This Page: "Washington, DC," House Divided: The Civil War Research Engine at Dickinson College,