Monroe County, IL

MONROE COUNTY, situated on the southwest boundary of Illinois, with the Mississippi river on the west, and the Kaskaskia river on the east. Area, 360 square miles. Seat of justice, Waterloo. Pop. in 1830, 2,000; in 1840, 4,481; in 1850, 7,679. (Fanning's, 1853)
Place Unit Type
Containing Unit
Name Type
Prairie du Long, IL City or Town
Waterloo, IL City or Town
How to Cite This Page: "Monroe County, IL," House Divided: The Civil War Research Engine at Dickinson College,