Russell County, AL

RUSSELL COUNTY, situated on the east boundary of Alabama, with Chattahoochee river on the east. Area, 865 square miles. Seat of justice, Crawford. Pop. in 1840, 13,513; in 1850, 19,548. (Fanning's, 1853)
    Place Unit Type
    Containing Unit
    Name Type
    Crawford, AL City or Town
    Fort Mitchell, AL City or Town
    How to Cite This Page: "Russell County, AL," House Divided: The Civil War Research Engine at Dickinson College,