Back to top

In Washington D.C., the U.S. Senate names its six members of the new Joint Committee on Reconstruction

Legislative Iconic image, U.S. Capitol, 2008
On this day, the six United States Senators chosen to serve on the newly authorized "Joint Committee of Fifteen on Reconstruction" were announced. Joining the already named nine House members were Republicans William Pitt Fessenden, James W. Grimes, Ira Harris, Jacob M. Howard, and George H. Williams. Reverdy Johnson of Maryland was the only Democrat named. (By John Osborne)
Source Citation: 
William A. Barnes, History of the Thirty-Ninth Congress of the United States (New York: Harper and Brothers, 1868), 49.