Sussex County, DE

SUSSEX COUNTY, situated in the south part of Delaware, with the Atlantic ocean and Delaware bay on the east. Area, 860 square miles. Face of the country, level and marshy; soil, sandy. Seat of justice, Georgetown. Pop. in 1810, 27,750; in 1820, 24,057; in 1830, 27,115; in 1840, 25,093; in 1850, 25,935. (Fanning's, 1853)
Place Unit Type
Containing Unit
Name Type
Bridgeville, DE City or Town
Concord, DE City or Town
Georgetown, DE City or Town
Laurel, DE City or Town
Milton, DE City or Town
Ocean View, DE City or Town
How to Cite This Page: "Sussex County, DE," House Divided: The Civil War Research Engine at Dickinson College,