Pennsylvania, Government and Judiciary (Hayward)

John Hayward, Gazetteer of the United States of America… (Philadelphia: James L. Gihon, 1854), 126.
Government. — The present constitution provides for the election of governor triennially by the people; not to hold office longer than six years in nine: the Senate, consisting of 33 members, one third chosen each year, are elected for three years: the House of Representatives contains 100 members, chosen annually. The judicial officers are appointed by the executive, subject to the approval of the Senate. The secretary of state is exclusively an executive appointment; and the treasurer is chosen annually by the legislature in joint ballot. All white males 21 years of age, tax payers, residents for one year in the state, and for ten days in the district, are qualified voters.

Judiciary. — The judicial power is vested in a Supreme Court, four District Courts, and Courts of Common Pleas for 24 districts, into which the state is divided. The former is composed of a chief and four associate justices, who retain their offices for 15 years. They hold a court in bank once a year in four several districts. The District Courts are invested with the civil jurisdiction of the Common Pleas in their respective districts, in all cases exceeding a certain amount involved: the judges of these courts are appointed for 10 years. Judges of the Courts of Common Pleas hold office for 5 years; and any two of them may hold a Court of Quarter Sessions in any county. Sheriffs, coroners, clerks of courts, registers of wills, and recorders of deeds are elected by the people for 3 years, and justices of the peace for 5 years.
    How to Cite This Page: "Pennsylvania, Government and Judiciary (Hayward)," House Divided: The Civil War Research Engine at Dickinson College,