Back to top

In Washington, a major military reorganization divides the nation into five large military districts

United States, 1860, zoomable map
A major post-war military reorganization was announced in Washington.  The country was divided into five main military "divisions."  The Division of the Atlantic, headquartered in Philadelphia, of the Mississippi (St. Louis), of the Gulf (New Orleans), of the Tennessee (Nashville), and the Pacific (San Francisco).  Eighteen subordinate commands were also set out, including one in each former Confederate state.  (By John Osborne) 
Source Citation: 
Chronicles of the Great Rebellion Against the United States of America (Philadelphia, PA: A. Winch, 1867), 108-109.