Grafton County, NH

GRAFTON COUNTY, situated on the western boundary of New Hampshire with Connecticut river on the west. Area, 1,740 square miles. Face of the country, mountainous and broken; soil productive. Seats of justice, Haverhill and Plymouth. Pop. in 1810, 28,462; in 1820, 32,989; in 1830, 38,691; in 1840, 42,311; in 1850, 41,343. (Fanning's, 1853)
Place Unit Type
Containing Unit
Name Type
Alexandria, NH City or Town
Bethlehem, NH City or Town
Bristol, NH City or Town
Hanover, NH City or Town
Lebanon, NH City or Town
Orford, NH City or Town
Rumney, NH City or Town
How to Cite This Page: "Grafton County, NH," House Divided: The Civil War Research Engine at Dickinson College,