Georgia's secession convention assembles in Milledgeville

The 296 delegates to Georgia's secession convention assembled in the state capital of Milledgeville, with former governor George W. Crawford in the chair.  By January 19, 1861, a ordinance of secession had been written and voted on in a final vote of  208 to 89. An attempt from A.H. Stephens, Hershel V. Johnson, and others to postpone action failed and Georgia was proclaimed officially to have left the Union.  (By John Osborne)
Source Citation
Benson J. Lossing, Pictorial History of the Civil War in the United States of America (Mansfield, OH: Estill & Co., 1866), 178. 
    Date Certainty
    How to Cite This Page: "Georgia's secession convention assembles in Milledgeville," House Divided: The Civil War Research Engine at Dickinson College,